FinasterideFast
Compare Platforms

Happy Head vs BiltRx vs HealthRX for Finasteride: What Each Service Includes

6 min read October 2026

Affiliate disclosure: This page contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we write. How this site makes money.

Three telehealth services, three different models: a custom-formula dermatology brand, a broad men's health platform, and a product-menu pharmacy service. Here is what each one's own site says it offers.

Short answer: based on their public pages in October 2026, Happy Head is built around custom prescription formulas, including a topical combining finasteride and minoxidil, with a photo-based consult and ongoing support. HealthRX shows a clear product menu: generic oral finasteride 1 mg plus compounded oral and topical minoxidil-finasteride combinations, with 3-month subscriptions and stated refund and cancellation terms. BiltRx is a men's telehealth brand whose hair page names finasteride and minoxidil, says its medications are compounded by licensed 503A pharmacies, and gives the fewest details on its consult and terms. Which suits you depends mostly on whether you want the FDA-approved tablet or a compounded topical or combination, and how much detail you want up front about follow-up and plan terms.

How we did this: we read each service's public hair-loss pages on October 12, 2026 and describe only what they stated. We earn a commission from all three (see the disclosure above). That's why we stick to their own published information and don't rank them. We don't list prices because they change often; check each site.

Side-by-side

Happy HeadBiltRxHealthRX
FocusHair loss (also lists an ED product)Men's telehealth brand with a hair-restoration programTelehealth service with a dedicated hair-loss menu
Finasteride formats namedOral and topical finasteride; a liposomal topical combining finasteride and minoxidilFinasteride (form not specified on the page)Oral finasteride 1 mg; compounded topical minoxidil + finasteride; oral minoxidil + finasteride capsule
Compounding statementCustom formulas (compounded topicals are not FDA-approved)"All medications... are compounded by fully licensed U.S. 503A pharmacies"Combination formulas prepared by a licensed compounding pharmacy and "not reviewed by the FDA"; oral finasteride described as FDA-approved for hair loss
How the consult worksShort questionnaire plus a photo; site says a board-certified dermatologist reviews and prescribesIntake form; page doesn't describe the visit format or provider typeOnline medical questions (about three minutes, per the site); a US-licensed provider reviews; "Approval is never automatic"
Follow-upOngoing doctor support; formula adjustments on requestNot described on the hair page"Unlimited provider follow-ups"
Billing modelMonthly prescription; pause, skip or cancel anytime, "no contracts"Listed with a monthly billing cadence; cancellation terms not stated on the hair pageProducts shown on a 3-month subscription; pause, change or cancel anytime, "no long-term contracts"
If not approvedNot stated on the pages we readNot stated on the hair pageFull refund for the medication if a clinician declines
ShippingFree, discreet packaging"Discreet refills"Free expedited shipping, plain packaging; 3 to 5 days from prescription
AvailabilityEligibility based on history, degree of hair loss, allergies, sex, age"May vary by state and clinical suitability"; state checker on siteStates service in all 50 states

Happy Head: custom formulas, dermatology framing

Happy Head's homepage describes a monthly prescription "tailored" to age, sex and medical history, with a custom topical option. The process is a free consultation, a short questionnaire and a photo upload. The site says a board-certified dermatologist then reviews and prescribes, and the formula is made fresh and shipped in discreet packaging. It says ongoing doctor support is included, and you can ask for formula adjustments. Its FAQ names a liposomal formula combining finasteride and minoxidil and refers to both topical and oral finasteride.

Worth knowing: custom topical formulas are compounded products, which aren't FDA-approved, and the FDA doesn't review them for safety, effectiveness or quality. If you specifically want the FDA-approved 1 mg tablet, ask for it. Our topical vs oral finasteride article covers the trade-offs.

The pages we read didn't say whether the consult is a video visit or written review, or what happens if you aren't approved, so ask if those matter to you.

Good fit if: you want a hair-specialist brand, are interested in a topical or combination, and value ongoing adjustments.

BiltRx: men's telehealth brand

BiltRx's hair-restoration page names two treatments, minoxidil and finasteride, without specifying oral or topical forms, and lists them with a monthly billing cadence. Its notes state that all medications are prescription-only and compounded by licensed US 503A pharmacies. It says many therapies described on the site aren't FDA-approved for the specific uses discussed and may be prescribed off-label at the provider's discretion, and that providers will review FDA-approved alternatives when applicable. Availability "may vary by state and clinical suitability," and there's a state availability checker. The page links to an intake form and offers a "speak with a coach" option, but it doesn't describe the visit format or cancellation terms.

Worth knowing: because the page gives fewer specifics, ask before you pay. Which form of finasteride? Approved tablet or compounded? What follow-up is included? How do you cancel?

Good fit if: you already use BiltRx for other care and want to keep everything in one place, and you're comfortable confirming the details directly with them.

HealthRX: clear product menu

HealthRX's hair-loss page lists individual products. Oral finasteride 1 mg is described as FDA-approved for hair loss. Alongside it are an oral capsule combining minoxidil and finasteride, a compounded topical combining minoxidil and finasteride, and an oral minoxidil and spironolactone product for women. The page states that combination formulas are prepared by a licensed compounding pharmacy and aren't reviewed by the FDA. Oral minoxidil for hair loss is off-label. The consult is a short set of online medical questions reviewed by a US-licensed provider. The site says approval is never automatic and that you get a full refund for the medication if a clinician declines. Products are shown on 3-month subscriptions, and you can pause, change or cancel anytime.

Worth knowing: if you're weighing the oral combination, read our explainer on finasteride plus low-dose oral minoxidil first; systemic minoxidil has its own screening questions.

Good fit if: you want plain generic finasteride from a clear menu, or a defined combination product, with stated refund and cancellation terms.

How to choose

Five questions that decide it

  1. Do I want the FDA-approved tablet, or a compounded topical or combination? If the tablet, any service that will prescribe plain finasteride 1 mg works. Confirm it's what you'll receive.
  2. How much follow-up do I want? Check exactly what's included after the first prescription.
  3. What are the plan terms? Monthly vs multi-month, how to cancel, and what happens if you're not approved.
  4. Is it available in my state? Check before you complete an intake.
  5. Do I need anything beyond finasteride? Dutasteride, for example, wasn't on any of these three hair pages when we checked; see getting dutasteride prescribed online.

Whichever you pick, a licensed clinician decides whether a prescription is appropriate, so none of these is a guaranteed prescription. That's a feature: services that skip clinical review are the ones to avoid, as covered in buying finasteride online without a prescription. If you'd rather go through your own doctor, see how to ask your primary care doctor.

Before you subscribe

  • Read the current plan page for price, billing frequency and cancellation steps. Screenshot it with the date.
  • Confirm the exact product: drug, form (tablet or topical), and whether it's compounded.
  • Have your history ready: medications, prostate or PSA history, mental health history, family plans, and whether anyone at home is or may become pregnant.
  • If you're switching services, avoid a gap in treatment. See switching providers without a gap.
  • Review the subscription after a few months to check you still need what's included.

When to see a doctor: if your hair loss is sudden, patchy, itchy or painful, have it examined in person before using any telehealth service.

Common questions

What is the main difference between Happy Head, BiltRx and HealthRX?

Based on their sites in October 2026, Happy Head centres on custom formulas including a finasteride-minoxidil topical, HealthRX lists a product menu with generic oral finasteride and compounded combinations, and BiltRx is a men's telehealth brand whose hair page names finasteride and minoxidil.

Which service offers FDA-approved finasteride tablets?

HealthRX lists oral finasteride 1 mg and describes it as FDA-approved for hair loss. Happy Head's FAQ refers to oral finasteride. BiltRx's hair page does not specify the form. Confirm the exact product before you subscribe.

Are the topical finasteride products FDA-approved?

No. Custom and combination topicals are compounded products, which are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness or quality.

Can any of these services guarantee a prescription?

No. In each case a licensed clinician reviews your information and decides. HealthRX says approval is never automatic and refunds the medication if a clinician declines.

Why does this comparison not list prices?

Prices change often and differ by plan length, so we describe what each service includes and suggest checking the current price on each site before subscribing.

References & further reading

  1. Happy Head homepage and FAQ, read October 12, 2026.
  2. BiltRx: Hair restoration and scalp health, read October 12, 2026.
  3. HealthRX: Hair loss, read October 12, 2026.
  4. PROPECIA (finasteride) prescribing information, DailyMed.

Check each service

Links go to each service's own site. Confirm current products, plan terms and pricing there; a licensed clinician decides whether a prescription is appropriate.

Happy Head

Hair-loss telehealth. A licensed provider reviews an online intake and, if appropriate, can prescribe oral finasteride or a compounded topical (compounded products are not FDA-approved). Its site describes the consultation as free.

Check Happy Head →

BiltRx

Men’s telehealth brand with a hair-restoration program that lists finasteride and minoxidil. Its site says medications are compounded by licensed US 503A pharmacies and availability varies by state. Review what’s included and current pricing before you start.

See BiltRx hair options →

HealthRX

Online hair-loss telehealth. A licensed clinician reviews your intake and decides whether a prescription is appropriate. Options include generic oral finasteride and compounded minoxidil + finasteride combinations; the compounded combinations are not FDA-approved or FDA-reviewed. Check current plans and pricing on their site.

See HealthRX hair-loss options →

About compounded medications: Compounded drugs are prepared by a pharmacy for an individual patient and are not FDA-approved. The FDA does not review them for safety, effectiveness, or manufacturing quality. Discuss the trade-offs with a licensed prescriber before starting.

Affiliate disclosure: We earn a commission if you sign up through these links; it doesn’t change what we write. How this site makes money.

Medical disclaimer: This article is for general information only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Finasteride is a prescription medication with a documented side effect profile. Always consult a licensed physician before starting, stopping, or changing any medication.

Free Download

The Complete Hair Loss Treatment Guide

10 pages on finasteride, minoxidil, and combination approaches — what the evidence supports and realistic timelines.